Greetings from a GHS Alum!

Hey GHS!  I’m really excited about coming back to Hometown USA in a few weeks to hang out with y’all!  It’ll be nice to be sit in a room filled with slow, southern accents for a while.  Thanks for letting me hang out with your group!

Before I show up at GHS, it might be helpful for you to know a little about me.   I’m pretty normal-ish.  I’m a reader and a writer.  Occasionally I’m a runner.  In a past life, I was a swimmer.  I’m also a former minister.  I hold an Undergraduate Degree in Religion and a Master’s Degree in Theology and Youth Education.  Although I’ve served in several churches, through a tangle of circumstances that is beyond the scope of this story, most of my career has been spent traveling around the country leading youth events.

When I was a minister, many of my friends who worked in churches thought I lived a charmed life.  I didn’t answer to a pastor, board of trustees, or finance committee.  Instead of working in one place, I traveled to youth events across the country to lead/invent programs, speak for conferences, and train youthworkers.  When I wasn’t on an airplane, I was working from my couch in a pair of pajama pants, brainstorming ideas.  My minister friends reminded me often that I probably didn’t fully appreciate how “good I had it.”

What they didn’t realize was that my southern, conservative, professionally Christian culture was crushing me.  They didn’t realize this because they didn’t know I was gay.

Obviously, as a minister trained in a very conservative tradition, to reveal that I was a homosexual man would not only cause the usual emotional rifts that often come with “coming out,” it would also end my ministerial career.

I decided to come out anyway.  In the Big Apple, where I currently live, I am free to be both a person of faith and a person who is comfortable with his sexual identity.  In NYC I stand with one foot planted in each of two divergent cultures.  To my gay friends I sometimes feel I’m a mystery because I am a Christian.  To my Christian friends I am often an intrigue because I am gay.

So… that’s a little about me.  I’ll fill in the gaps in a few weeks.  In the meantime, come up with some quesitons!!

I can’t wait to come back to GHS and see what things are like now.  I’ll tell you some of what it was like to be gay at GHS in the good ole’ days, but I also want you to tell me what it’s like there now.  I’m sure lots has changed.

Would you folks mind telling me a little about yourselves?

This entry was posted in Bryan's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Greetings from a GHS Alum!

  1. Jess says:

    Hi Bryan!

    I am so excited for you to visit our GSA! It will be so nice to have you come back and speak to us about your experience and I am super excited to hear about how you got out of Hometown USA and found your niche in the Big Apple. I am a questioning female who has been raised in an uber Catholic family. I joined the GSA to explore these persistent feelings, but must keep my participation on the down-low because my friends from church (many who also attend GHS), as well as my family, would definitely not agree with my decision to not only join the GSA, but to be questioning my sexuality period. I am really looking forward to hearing how you bridged the gap between your conservative friends/family and the true you.
    I guess if I had one question to ask, it would be how did you overcome the fact that coming out would possibly end many relationships that you had with friends and family? It saddens and scares me to think of losing so many wonderful people in order to be myself.
    Thanks!
    Jess

Leave a Reply

